Header Ads Widget

Administrative structure of Pakistan

 Administrative structure of Pakistan

Pakistan's administrative structure consists of four main tiers: federal, provincial, district, and local governments.


Administrative structure of Pakistan

1 Federal Government: The federal government is responsible for national security, foreign policy, currency and monetary policy, and maintaining law and order. It is headed by the President, who acts as the ceremonial head of state, and the Prime Minister, who is the head of government. The Parliament of Pakistan is bicameral, consisting of the National Assembly (lower house) and the Senate (upper house).


2 Provincial Governments: There are four provinces in Pakistan: Punjab, Sindh, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, and Balochistan. Each province has its own governor, who is appointed by the President, and its own chief minister, who is elected by the provincial assembly. The provincial governments are responsible for issues such as education, health, and local development.


3 District Governments: The districts are the third tier of government in Pakistan and are responsible for implementing the policies and programs of the provincial government. There are a total of 145 districts in Pakistan, each headed by a deputy commissioner who is appointed by the provincial government.


4 Local Governments: The local governments are responsible for providing essential services such as waste management, water supply, and sanitation to their communities. There are two main types of local governments in Pakistan: union councils and metropolitan corporations. Union councils are the smallest tier of government and consist of elected members who represent their communities. Metropolitan corporations are established in major cities and are responsible for providing services to the urban population.


In conclusion, Pakistan's administrative structure is a federal parliamentary democratic republic, with the federal government having the power to make laws on certain national issues, while the provincial governments have the power to make laws on certain provincial issues.

Post a Comment